Lead Generation Insuring Their Clients

slllano

Hi, I've started up a small "company" (not yet really a company - still got to get biz name and LLC it and whatnot), more like a side job, where I basically find leads for construction contractors and related fields (painters, carpenters, plumbers, etc).

I've been doing this for a few months, its not big at all, but I want it to get bigger or rather I want to make a business out of it. One problem I've encountered is that some of these "contractors" aren't insured. Obviously, my leads will be discouraged in using their services without proper insurance.

I thought of a solution but don't know if this is possible or even legal.

Could I get some sort of liability insurance, under my name or future business name, that I could apply to any contractors without insurance so that when I ship them out to my clients the work is insured?

Not workers comp, just the kind of insurance that covers damages that may occur to a home, or resident in the home (God forbid), in case of an accident during a job.

Also, could I form some sort of contract (with a lawyer of course) so that in case a contractor of mine causes damages, and I have to pay deductibles or other fees/increases, they are made responsible for reimbursing me (through a bill or membership price increase for a period of time, etc.)?

So to wrap things up: Non-insured contractors that wish to use my lead generation services and that are hired by my clients are offered insurance per job/person, under my name, and responsible for paying fees back to me in case its used.

Hope this isn't too confusing. I'm sort of confused :twitchy:

Might be best just not to deal with non-insured companies, but it would be great to have a larger market in my small-ish city.

Thanks!

The closest you'll probably get is if you were actually subbing it out to them. Probably better of telling them to get insurance or find new clients.