Legality Question?

William K

Not sure if this is the right area to post this but since I am new to the insurance business and focusing on final expense, I figure I'd give it a shot on the Senior Forum. First post, so please be gentle. I'm in Las Vegas, NV and I spoke to a lady today who wants to buy a policy for her mom. The daughter is in Las Vegas however the mom is in New Jersey. The mother knows about it and is good with it, but can I do it? I know the daughter will be the policy owner and the mother will be the insured. I'm licensed in Nevada but not in New Jersey and currently appointed with Forresters, United Home Life and Assurity. Basically, can I sell the daughter who is in Nevada a policy on her mom who is in New Jersey?

You can also sell it without the NJ license if her mom comes to Nevada to visit (since that is where the sale takes place). You may need an extra form, call the carriers sales support. At least this is how it works in Michigan...

Last edited:
Are med supps different? Back in the "old days" you could sell life that way, but never health insurance.

Not sure if this is the right area to post this but since I am new to the insurance business and focusing on final expense, I figure I'd give it a shot on the Senior Forum. First post, so please be gentle. I'm in Las Vegas, NV and I spoke to a lady today who wants to buy a policy for her mom. The daughter is in Las Vegas however the mom is in New Jersey. The mother knows about it and is good with it, but can I do it? I know the daughter will be the policy owner and the mother will be the insured. I'm licensed in Nevada but not in New Jersey and currently appointed with Forresters, United Home Life and Assurity. Basically, can I sell the daughter who is in Nevada a policy on her mom who is in New Jersey?

You have to be licensed in the State where the application is signed by the insured. As someone noted, if the Mom comes to visit in Nevada, you can write it on a Nevada app.