Looking for Advice on career path

Grubbyhog

After reading several threads on this forum, I have decided to take advantage of the wealth of knowledge here. I think it would be foolish for my not utilize the experience available.

I have 15 years of experience managing groups of 8 to 120 people. These groups did everything from direct sales, recruiting, training and telemarketing in the Bankcard industry. I have a friend that sells insurance and annuities for an IMO. He is doing well, so I thought I would get a CA for Life and Health. After passing that exam, I decided to go ahead and get a CA for P&C. Now I am trying to decide what direction to take. I thought I would just start selling Life and annuities, but then I found this forum....

All that being said, here are some of the things available to me at this time:

- Access to an office that is already set up with a network, furniture and a phone system.
- A certificate of authority for P&C and Life and Health.
- I know some people that work for a local IMO.
- Nothing special, but I have talked with a recruiter from State Farm.

I want to make the best decision I can for me and my family. I appreciate any feedback or advice in advance.

*smdh* You've dived "head first" by thinking that "I can make great money" without first researching the following:
1) Who do I envision myself selling to?
2) What problems does this market have and how can I help solve them with my products?
3) How will I get the real training to ensure that I'm actually helping people rather than inadvertently screwing them over.

Merchant card or bankcard services, selling direct to merchants has little to no regulation. No licensing and barely any training needed.

With insurance, you're dealing with protecting people's assets, income, families, etc., and it takes more training to ensure that you don't screw them over.