Looking for some advice/feedback for someone thinking about a career change

Jgage916

Hello insurance forum. I stumbled across this doing a google search about getting started in insurance. I read the stickied post by NC Agent and after more searching I decided to make a post here. I am currently a CNC machinist here in rural upstate SC, I like the job fine but I’ve been debating a career change for a while now with no real idea of what I wanted to do. I’ve worked in manufacturing since I was 16 and been a machinist the last 10 but the reality of manufacturing is there’s an ever looming risk of showing up at work to find out you’re job is going somewhere else, not to mention I’m tired of 12 hour shifts standing on concrete especially when I would have 32 more years of it before retiring.

I’m not really sure what got me thinking about insurance, I’ve been exploring all my options and kept coming back to this. I’d love to hear feedback from anyone that has made a career change to this industry and their experiences good and bad. I would also love to hear recommendations on which of the online courses to prepare forms the licensing test people recommended. Honestly any tips or pointers are greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Hello insurance forum. I stumbled across this doing a google search about getting started in insurance. I read the stickied post by NC Agent and after more searching I decided to make a post here. I am currently a CNC machinist here in rural upstate SC, I like the job fine but I’ve been debating a career change for a while now with no real idea of what I wanted to do. I’ve worked in manufacturing since I was 16 and been a machinist the last 10 but the reality of manufacturing is there’s an ever looming risk of showing up at work to find out you’re job is going somewhere else, not to mention I’m tired of 12 hour shifts standing on concrete especially when I would have 32 more years of it before retiring.