Mega Healthcare...creditable Coverage?

jimsthename

Expert
Health Insurance pros...I need your help (I'm an agent, but I don't specialize in health insurance)

I have Crohn's Disease and recently applied to Illinois "Pre-existing Condition Health Insurance Plan (IPXP)" and was DENIED coverage.

The reason I was denied was because they determined that I currently have "creditable" coverage based on my current plan with MEGA Healthcare. Of course, I was denied by several bonafide universal carriers (e.g. Unicare, BCBS, Celtic and Assurant) and took the plan with Mega as an only resort. Mega has excluded my Crohn's Disease from coverage.

I do not consider my MEGA plan to be "creditable" coverage and am seeking the industry correct terminology to convince the Illinois underwriter of this.

Can you help me?. Thanks.

Most health coverage is creditable coverage, including prior coverage under:
  • a group health plan (including a governmental or church plan)
  • health insurance coverage (either group or individual)
  • Medicare
  • Medicaid
  • military-sponsored health care program such as CHAMPUS
  • a program of the Indian Health Service
  • a State high risk pool
  • the Federal Employees Health Benefit Program
  • a public health plan established or maintained by a State or local government and
  • a health benefit plan provided for Peace Corps members.
Mega, even though it has limited benefits, would fall under bullet #2.

Wouldn't this depend on whether it is a limited benefit plan or a plan that caps OOP expenses? From what I have seen, I believe MEGA had policies that did both. I would think the plans that cap expenses would be creditable coverage and the limited benefit plans wouldn't. Yes? No? Good question, nobody ever seems to have a definitive answers....I suppose you could call MEGA and ask for a certificate of creditable coverage. If they can't give you one, you have your answer.