New Businesses In Need of Insurance

Kk96311

Hi Everyone, I am a commercial insurance agent looking to increase my business. Does anyone have any advice or insight on how to locate information on new businesses that have not opened and may potentially be looking for insurance? Any input would be very helpful and appreciated.

I am commercial only, and have done very well. I suggest you canvas and cold call to get your first few sales, and use this system to get referrals. I get an average of 3 referrals per sale, which turns into 2 sales. Those two sales net 6 referrals, which turns into 4 sales, which nets 12 referrals, and so on. Bottom line, I have a folder full of referrals I don't even have time to get to.

As far as referrals, it’s taken years to refine and perfect, but it was a complete game changer. I was getting so much business so easily after years and years of pounding the pavement and cold calling, I actually felt guilty. All cold calling and marketing has stopped some time ago, and it’s 100% referrals now. I would suggest you try dedicating some time into this. The barrier to entry is a little bit higher, but it will probably get you the most clients, with relatively little work once you get efficient with it. The clients you get from a system like this will generally be higher than the type of clients you get from any other cold calling, marketing, etc.

Basically I have a two pronged approach.

First, referrals from current clients, by asking for them in a very specific and targeted way and focusing on a niche that is the most capable of providing referrals.

Second, once you've gotten the technique down, I would suggest you share your techniques with others in the area as a form of relationship building, and then you can expect to get referrals from them. They key of course is that you take really really really good care of their clients, no matter what.