• Do you have any victories you'd like to share for the month of May? Help us celebrate others by posting here.

New independent agent - worker’s compensation quotes

Matthew Hord

I’m a very new independent insurance agent and have a staffing company wanting me to quote them worker’s compensation. None of my carriers will pick them up. They are in four states NC, SC, GA, and NJ. I don’t want to miss out on a huge opportunity. How can I get these guys a quote? I looked into state rates and ncci however they are supposed to be a last resort. They currently have coverage and want a different agent. What are my options? I am very new to the commercial insurance and a little lost how I can make this sale work.

Do everything you can to shop it around, and take notes. Exhaust all options. If you can beat their policy, then great. Slam dunk.

You already know they want another agent, so show them all the work you've done and how committed you are, and offer to BOR/AOR the policy.

I've done this before more than once. As a matter of face, for my first five years or so, around 50% of my policies were bor'd.

With the 'rate' for Work Comp set by NCCI, the only real difference you can offer is yourself. With payrolls being the same, your quote is not going to be much different than the competition, unless your carrier carves out a big credit.

I am also thinking that staffing companies pose a significantly higher risk, as you have heard from your carriers that are declining to quote.

I would check with FrankCrum , David Viar 727-799-1229 ext 1433 . They offer both PEO options and direct Workers Comp for the oddball stuff.

Also, @EugeneM . Maybe he will chime in for you.

Good Luck!
Dave

With the 'rate' for Work Comp set by NCCI, the only real difference you can offer is yourself. With payrolls being the same, your quote is not going to be much different than the competition, unless your carrier carves out a big credit.