New Life/Health Agent Looking for Guidance

oboe6127

Hi All,

I am a brand new Life/Health agent and live in Southern NJ. Just passed my exams, coursework, etc. I did all this without a company sponsor as I have been wanting to break into the industry for a while now. Also, I should mention that I am new to the sales arena too. That being said I am looking for employment and want to find a company that supports new agents and those without a direct sales background. I do not want to get into a company that encourages "cold calling" or "hard selling". Rather, I want to ease into this field and get my feet wet first. A company that offers some kind of base salary + commission is preferred. Knowing my business style I definitely need a good mentor and support system. With over 10 years work experience (post-college) I know that the skills I have acquired will translate to insurance nicely.

• Can anyone recommend some good companies to look into?
  • Do any companies these days provide their agents with health benefits?
  • Has anyone started in a support position prior to getting into a full-fledged sales position? If so, what was your experience like? Would you recommend this?

Any advice you could give a newbie would be greatly appreciated!

It sounds like a captive place might work best for you. Generally, they are the only ones that might offer a base salary + commission. Most of the independent places only offer commission, again I did say most, not all. I don't know any to recommend to you, unfortunately.

I would start by using google to find some local in your area. Submit your resume, call in, search for some job openings on LinkedIn.