New to the industry

Whitney S

Good afternoon everyone. I’m new to the insurance business and I just got my license 6 months ago. I’m in Louisiana trying to find the best route to take. I just recently signed with Aflac and Liberty National Life Insurance. I’m also taking the AHIP training on the 25

I was also contacted by Ideal Concept Inc, which is a work from home job selling Health benefits. I don’t know if these is a good company to work for. Of course the will provide the lead and the software, but they will keep my book. Any suggestions from the seasoned Insurance Gurus!!!

I worked for Liberty National for 14 years and was captured. Not sure if it is still that way. AFLAC may be the same way. Why the need for 3 companies who target different markets? AFLAC is big in the workplace, LN sells life although it is not competitive and the other company sells health insurance I think. You will make more money if you concentrate on one market while getting started.

Why are you taking AHIP? AFLAC nor LN has MA or PDP.

If I was a brand new agent today, I would focus on Final Expense and Medicare. If not Final Expense and Medicare than I would do P&C.

Aflac have you pounding the pavement every day trying to talk to business owners. Hard way to make a living. My business partner has been in the business for 5 years before he took on Aflac and he walked out on Aflac 3 months.

I was taking the AHIP because I wanted to offer MA or PDP if a customer inquired. I was unsure how much access I needed so I applied to take the AHIP.

Mike, thanks for he advice. I was indecisive about what to market first.

This is a tough industry to make it, so find a good and successful manager that can show you the ropes. Especially one that is local to you. Being so new to the industry, stay away from companies that are too far from you. You'll need all the local support you can get.