Northern Mutual Vs Guardian Life Vs NY Life

griffin

Northwestern Mutual Vs Guardian Life Vs NY Life

Hello,

I live in the NYC area, I use to work in banking until I was laid off, I have a Baccalaureates degree in International Business and I am looking to move into the insurance field. I have narrowed what companies I'm interested in to Northwestern Mutual, Guardian, and NYL.

I have no experience in insurance and therefore have no licenses. What I'm looking for is a company where I will receive solid training and also receive mentor support from other agents.

-I would like to know if those companies would provide a salary in the beginning or is it commission based from the start?

- What type of clients does Northwestern Mutual, Guardian, and NYL target? I get the feeling that Northwestern Mutual is more high-net worth?

- Am I expected to sell right away at those companies or is there a gradual easing into selling?

- Are those companies actively recruiting right now?

- Are there any other companies I should be looking at?

I have not done anything else besides researching those companies. I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

Last edited:
My remarks are in bold italics.

Hello,

I live in the NYC area, I use to work in banking until I was laid off, I have a Baccalaureates degree in International Business and I am looking to move into the insurance field. I have narrowed what companies I'm interested in to Northern Mutual, Guardian, and NYL. I assume you mean Northwestern Mutual.

I have no experience in insurance and therefore have no licenses. What I'm looking for is a company where I will receive solid training and also receive mentor support from other agents. You will need to figure out which of these offices will come closest to providing that.

-I would like to know if those companies would provide a salary in the beginning or is it commission based from the start? Not usually but it may differ office to office.