Question about Renewal Premiums

Chun Yu

I am new to term life insurance. I have a few questions regarding renewal premiums.

1. I have noticed that the "current" renewal premiums always coincide with the premiums for new customers of higher age in CompuLife. Is that true in reality?

For example, will a renewal premium of a 31-year-old customer who's held the policy for one year be the same as the one for a new 31-year old? (assuming identical health and other factors)

2. If the answer to the above question is no, then how is the "current" column informative for consumers? Also, in what sense does it mean that CompuLife quotes renewal premiums?

Thank you in advance!

I am new to term life insurance. I have a few questions regarding renewal premiums.

1. I have noticed that the "current" renewal premiums always coincide with the premiums for new customers of higher age in CompuLife. Is that true in reality?

For example, will a renewal premium of a 31-year-old customer who's held the policy for one year be the same as the one for a new 31-year old? (assuming identical health and other factors)

2. If the answer to the above question is no, then how is the "current" column informative for consumers? Also, in what sense does it mean that CompuLife quotes renewal premiums?

Thank you in advance!

I think I had an email from you about this. If not, here is what I said to the other person:

There are very few "current" renewal premiums quoted by Compulife.

Can you print a PDF of an example of what you are referring to, and send it to me so I can review it?​

The individual sent me a TIAA-CREF illustration for ART.

I replied and said:

OK, you have found one of the examples where the company illustrates both a "current" premiums they plan to charge, and a guaranteed premium they will not exceed.

The current premium is marked by asterisks indicating it is NOT guaranteed.