Referral Fee?

Quick question. I am an indy broker and have a finance guy looking to give me leads for a referral fee. He has his p&c license. What would be a logical fee or would you guys do anything?

There are a few ways you can approach this.

You can go for a fee not contingent upon sale but set it low, like $5 or $10 (or higher if you feel they're worth it). This would be the easiest one to keep track of.

You can do a set fee on only leads that turn in to sales (since he's licensed). How much that would be would depend on what your average commissions are. Say for instance you make on average $200 per sale you could set the fee at $20 (about 10%) or $100 (about 50%) or whatever amount works for you where you still make money and keeps them sending you leads. This would still be fairly easy to track.

The most complicated way to do it is to offer a percentage of the actually commission received. Depending on how you're set up that could be kind of a pain to keep track of.

My personal recommendation would be to go with one of the first two options.

Leads from a referrer would be huge. Offer him $10 a lead and then give me his phone number. ;)

There are a few ways you can approach this.

You can go for a fee not contingent upon sale but set it low, like $5 or $10 (or higher if you feel they're worth it). This would be the easiest one to keep track of.

You can do a set fee on only leads that turn in to sales (since he's licensed). How much that would be would depend on what your average commissions are. Say for instance you make on average $200 per sale you could set the fee at $20 (about 10%) or $100 (about 50%) or whatever amount works for you where you still make money and keeps them sending you leads. This would still be fairly easy to track.

The most complicated way to do it is to offer a percentage of the actually commission received. Depending on how you're set up that could be kind of a pain to keep track of.