Second generation agent advice needed.

alexkh

Expert
Hello agents!
This forum is very useful and I learned a lot over the years. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to read this post and provide valuable feedback.
I am a solo agent started with Medicare, added life and health and service P&C for existing client. As the agency grows naturally we have accumulated a sizable book of business. My child just finished a high school and after a gap year got licensed in Life&Health.
I would like to help get the child go and develop the business, but it is a wild west. I started at my late thirties and had a corporate experience, while my child is a clear page. I know I can feed clients and see that they are processed well, but I feel like in real life she will have to go out and learn how to fish herself. What would you suggest as a middle road that you saw working. I would not like to scare away at the same time I do not believe in feeding the business. Any suggestions are very welcome and I hope agents in similar situations would find it useful. Please share what tools you think might work like CRM or similar.
Thank you and have a wonderful day!

There is a great way to grow your agency and grow her skills together.

I would sit her down and explain the overall situation and gauge her interest. Then turn around and assist in getting her employed in another agency - perhaps in a different part of the state, or another state all together, where it wont be as much of a competition concern. State Farm, Independent, anything in your outer sphere of sales. She might be underpaid, massively for those first two years, but she will learn on someones dime and the parent will not have to train her. Meanwhile I would encourage independent study in the insurance industry.