Seeking Advice on LTD Insurance Coverage

minoly

I want to buy additional LTD coverage outside of what I currently have through work. An agent at Northwestern Mutual provides me with an annual quote of $150. Is this a good price? When it comes to insurance coverage, I don't want to sacrifice quality for price so I need to pay the cheapest rate as long as it is with a company that are reputable and will stand behind their policy coverage.

I'm new to this so please advise. Is Northwestern Mutual a good company to go with and is the price fair?

annual quote of $150? Are you buying $10 a month?

Here is the absolute best advice for DI. READ the definitions! The definitions ARE EVERYTHING! the shorter the sentence, the better for the insured. The longer the sentences the more reasons an insurance carrier can say no.

NWM is an excellent company. Put up a policy summary and maybe you'll get better answers. Right now as posted, no one can really tell you anything other than you've probably screwed up your message.

One thing with DI is, its full of trade-offs. Try to help us understand what you really want so we can give you better advice.

Do you want a policy that can never have a rate increase? You can get it, but you'll pay more for it.

Do you want a definition of disability that is easier to meet than others? Again, you can do it, but you'll pay for it.

Do you want to be able to increase coverage at a later date, just by showing the required income, without having to re-examine your health? You get the idea.

Also, what is your occupation? Occupation class is huge in determining premium, and some companies have better products/pricing for certain occupations versus other companies.