Switching Companies - Serious Questions Must Be Answered...

pauljo75

Hello, all. I'm new here, and thank you for at least reading my post.

I am currently working with Aflac in the midwest, but I am dissatisfied with certain aspects of this career. I gave up a secure, modestly-paying salary job (Procurement) to do this a couple of months ago. My main concern right now is that I am not comfortable with their training, aggressive agent strategy, and the over-saturation of agents in my area (although our market penetration is relatively low). I am very new to cold, face-to-face, b2b prospecting, and I really need a mentor by my side for the time-being (especially since I'm splitting sales with my DSC indefinitely). I'm VERY comfortable while presenting to a business owner or employee on a 1-on-1 basis. it's the prospecting that is getting me down (just walk into a business and ask to see the owner, and do this repeatedly until the owner gives in). I'm simply not making the money I need to make right now since I have children, rent, bills, etc.

**I realize prospecting is a necessary part of this industry, but does it have to be so brazen and awkward?**

I've interviewed with Mutual of Omaha twice recently, and my third meeting is today (decision time). It seems like they have a different approach to prospecting and marketing, a recognized name, as well as a diverse selection of products to sell. For a few years, they also will pay me a base figure if I meet relatively achievable sales goals, as well as more extensive product training. On the surface, this sounds like a much better future situation than with Aflac.

**I think Aflac is a GREAT company overall. However, I think they have created an agent culture of which very few even have a remote chance at making a living - A divorced dad paying rent and child support doesn't seem to stand much of a chance. Mutual of Omaha seems to be a respectable company that will make a large investment in ensuring my success.**