Thinking About It

daddioh

Expert
I would like some advice from those in the "industry". I have been a realtor for the last 5 years. Fortunately, I averaged about $40k even during the downturn. Currently it has finally caught up with me. I have about 3-4 months worth of savings, but after that...I am currently looking for a "real" job to supplement real estate. The market will pick back up at some point, but who knows when. Unfortunately, I only have 66 semester hours and "most " jobs require a degree. This leaves me with low paying "entry" level jobs and those jobs requiring a degree. I was a Master Sergeant in the USAF, 8 years corporate (IP, FedEx), and 8 years total real estate. I have been contacted on Monster for insurance jobs (GEICO, Liberty National, AFLAC and Mutual of Omaha). I am attempting "due diligence" and thought yall's experience would help immensely in determining whether the insurance route would be feasible or if I should keep looking for a 9-5 something. My clients have been very satisfied with my representation, but after viewing this board it doesn't appear like many people actually like and are successful at insurance. My 25 plus years experience has been in the customer serice/sales arena. I guess I am just rambling now...any thoughts (yes, I have been praying about it). I know already not everyone believes so no offense to non-believers. Thanks

My clients have been very satisfied with my representation, but after viewing this board it doesn't appear like many people actually like and are successful at insurance.

Don't let the posters on this forum serve as a barometer as to how successful you could be at insurance sales.

I know there are a handful (or two, maybe?) of successful agents on this board.

The agents I personally know who are earning $30k plus per month, don't have time to post on here......YMMV....