Which Route to Go? Opinions Please!

asummer74

Indiana
I have several years P & C and Health claims experience. I have outside sales exp as well but in non insurance field. I recently obtained by P & C and Life license after deciding to go into insurance sales. My question is: Is it better to go work for an independant agent in town, as a sub-contractor, working with multiple carriers. The agent has a lot of walk in business etc. and it is a well known agency. I have spoken with him and he is interested in bringing me on. I have to see what exact commission splits he offers etc.. first. But I feel working with an independant broker, one with many companies might put me on a more competitive edge as far as rates. Assuming I have a decent commission split and renewals. I would also like to add in Final Expense sales down the line as I get more experienced. I like the fact that I would be a 1099 employee and kind of in control of my book of business per se.

Or~
I also have interviewed and been offered position with Captive agent, who is offering base salary of 25k, 8 % on P & C, 35% commission on Life. The thing that doesn't sit well is no renewals on anything I write, and obviously I do not keep my book of business as I am working for him.

Keep in mind, my income is not sole income in household, spouse is main income, so I do have flexiblity to be commission based. I do know insurance already, familiar with the terms etc. I just don't know the route to go. I have heard so many negative things about not signing on with an agent that will not let you get renewals. I don't want to waste my time bring in all my contacts and then can't receive any renewals, also its only one company, if rates aren't competitive, then I can't even write the business.

What are all your thoughts?

I think far too many agents to readily discount the 25k part of the puzzle.