yet another newbie

hello all,
my name is Todd, and I have decided that I am going to change careers into the L&H insurance field. I am studying now and plan to take the PA state test in June. I guess my biggest issue is whether to go "captive" or independent. I have heard arguments for both sides of the coin, and I really guess it comes down to what I feel more comfortable with. However I do have a wife that is used to not working, and two small children who need to be provided for. Not that I am in any way making a killing now, a little over 50k last year, but it is what we are used to. I am used to working a 40 plus hour week and have been in sales for about 10 years. Is it realistic that I can amintain that type of income or more during the first year, while getting my feet wet? Any help will be greatly appreciated, tahnk you.

Is it realistic that I can amintain that type of income or more during the first year, while getting my feet wet? Any help will be greatly appreciated, tahnk you.

The first 6 months to a year will be tough. This is very much a get rich slow type of scheme. If you have the savings to get through 6 months, and the drive to survive, you'll do okay.

It takes a while to build up some business, to learn the products, and to be comfortable with the sales process. You can get there, but getting going is hard.

$50K first year is achievable, just it's a bit backend loaded, unless you can get an advance contract, rather than an as-earned. Also, first year, you have no renewals.

I don't know PA rates, so change the numbers accordingly. Figure you sell 5 policies a month for the first year (you can easily do better). Each policy earns an average of $700 commission per year, or $58.33 per month per policy (first year). The first month is 5 * $58 which = not a lot of money. Second month is 5 from the first month + 5 from the second month = still not a lot of money, but getting better. This keeps going on for the year.