Votes: 4 44.4%
  • complain to FINRA

Votes: 1 11.1%
  • tell him to kick rocks

Votes: 2 22.2%

• Total voters

disgruntledagent

HI Forum Readers:

I'm a former captive life agent/investment advisor for a large mutual insurance company... I left about 2 years ago, and have been randomly getting letters from my general agent about debts I owe him. None of these debts are from charge backs. I have great relationships with all of my clients (current and former) whom I continue to advise on their policy's with this company and others. While I have advised them to cancel their policies when appropriate, none of that advice happened in the first year of my leaving this general agent (non-compete he decided to enforce on me despite neglecting to enforce on multiple coworkers who left previously and since my departure, but another story not applicable here).

Since this isn't a charge back, I don't think it should affect my ability to get appointed with other carriers. Since it's a debt he is claiming I owe him, what are his options? I do not agree with his tallying of these expenses and think he has continued to charge me for shared staff after I told him I was no longer participating in shared staff and has continued to charge me for rent after I told him I was leaving (it took him 2 months to release my FINRA registration).

Anyone have experience with this? I have asked him (through his CFO) to send a list of charges for my entire history with the agency (8 years), but have never received any docs that show more than a most recent month or two...

If he decides to get lawyers involved, would that be handled via mediation with FINRA? I'm thinking of filing a complaint with them anyway since he won't leave me alone... Thoughts? Advice?

Thank you!

Disgruntled Agent