Advice on career direction

Txmade99

Expert
Hi guys, I'm new here. Thought I would get some advice. I'm new to insurance. I've been with State Farm for one year doing Auto, Homeowners, and a little of Buildings/Commercial for a SF agent.

It has been good training so far, particularly on the service side but the sales not so much as I've had to learn on my own. The agent I work for depends strictly on Everquote leads and her existing clients for referrals. So I've had to learn how to generate my own leads as well since sales is not her strong point.

My problem is I'm starting to get bored and ready to do something more or something different. I do have my Life and Health license and recently asked her to teach me the health products and financial products. My agent said I would have to give her 2 years if I wanted her to teach me something else. I am very uncomfortable with her rationing out training like that on conditions. I figure it can only help her agency so why be so insecure? However I guess I understand since her employee turnover rate is high.

She was supposed to get me registered with State Farm to start selling Life products but its been almost 2 months and she hasn't done it, she said she's been busy since she hardly has anyone in the office. She said for right now she would like me to continue to focus on Auto and Homeowners, while she focuses on the Life and servicing accounts, but my ADD is kicking in.

I did receive two job offers on the Medicare side making two dollars more than I make at SF but don't know if it's worth it to get fully into health right now. But I would love to get started on learning something new right now, whether Life, health or financial.

I do love P&C but autos and HO are getting boring. Although I would love to do something more on the Commercial side. I had two referrals that were looking for insurance for their business but State Farm didn't service their line of business.