Becoming a Blue Cross Blue Shield Agent

CullyW

I’m a new agent, only been licensed almost one year. I’d like some advice about Blue Cross Blue Shield in Florida.

I started with Aflac, but knocking on doors everyday went nowhere. The one group sale I thought I was going to get turned out only the owner wanted a policy and Aflac needs a minimum of 3 for a group. So my manager suggested the owner buy policies for 2 employees and cancel them a few weeks after the group got started. Great one sale and two charge backs, what a start.

Then I thought about Colonial Life, I was going to turn them down but they offered I could be an Enroller, not an Agent. I went to one intro meeting and one training session and was unimpressed so I never followed up and neither did they.

Last I was at USHealth Advisors for the last few months. Lots of calling using their Dialer leads and lots and lots of direct E-Mail and I got a few nibbles, but no closed business.

Was it me, the prospects or the companies that were an issue to my success?

Frustrated I went back to a regular job while I sort things out.

Now I get an E-Mail from BCBS Florida and it looks tempting, but I don’t want it to be the same as the others before.

BCBS offers:

* Advanced Commissions
* Lead Management System
* Predictive Dialer
* Automated E-Mail
* Online Apps

And so forth

My question from a prospective Agent is BCBS they worth it? What are the pros and cons?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Last edited:
Hate to say it but it may just be you. Now granted I haven't heard anything good about working for Aflac but I don't think much is going to be different at BCBS. When it comes down to it, the only way to make it in this business is to create business. ie cold calling, direct mail, internet leads, etc.

If you've tried it all before and failed, it may not be for you.