Career Direction Advice (Medicare)

Lvm82

Expert
In May of this year, I applied for a position in the underwriting department of State Farm. I didn't think they were going to call me because it has been 3 months since I applied.

So I went ahead and registered with an Fmo/imo to sell medicare and final expense. One carrier contacted me to do some seminars and I'm in the process of getting my marketing/lead strategy together since this is my first time. Basically, I am gearing up to hit the ground running for Aep as well as setting appointments for final expense.

Problem is the job I applied for in May for the Underwriting department called last week. They offered me the position but said I can't have any appointments. I thought that was mainly the rule for agents applying for sales position within the company. Even though it's underwriting, I guess the rule makes sense. This position starts in October.

So now I'm trying to figure out if I should go ahead and take the job or go ahead and push on with my business as an independent agent. I am in the process of getting everything set up with my seminars and other marketing strategy and I'd hate to give up now. I know it's going to take hard work and some years of hustle and bustle to work the business, but If I take the job there is no telling when I will when start it up again. I'm also not too crazy about doing a 9-5 but something steady and where I can save is always good. On the other hand I do want the training and experience from the job, the pay is $45,000, not much but steady. You do work from home most times, and I really don't feel like interviewing for another job.

I did have some funds saved up for leads/marketing in addition to a part time job that's holding me over a right now to start medicare and final expense but I'm going to have to get some income coming in soon in the future.