Child Health Plus Vs Family Plan

dhayes

Hello All.
I might be missing something. I am a business owner who has a family of 3 small kids. My plan with the chamber was cancelled and I have the option of going to the chamber for another group plan or looking at the NY exchange. I have gone round and round on this and need to decide. Needless to say my premiums will be going up for the same plan/deductible from $8400 per year to $13,200 per year. So needless to say although this was predictable I am not happy. And, the lack of out of network coverage has me terrified. For some reason people around me do not seem to think this is a big deal. Bizzare.:err:

So I was looking at the exchanges and I can break things up and get my kids in Child Health plus and my wife and I can do a gold plan. Our income levels do not qualify for any subsidies. I looked at everything CH+ has and I must be missing something since it provides A LOT of coverage without deductibles. So the big question I have is what is the different between kids on CH+ and a family plan where we all participate? I checked all the the kids docs and all the providers are there. So am I missing something that is radically different? Is the CH+ in some way substandard?

Thanks for any info!
Dave

We have some NY agents (RayNY in particular) that may see this and respond. I can't answer your specific question about that plan but I would encourage you to talk with an agent about OFF exchange plans.

In most states (NY may be different) you have a wider selection and broader network vs exchange plans.