Cold Door Knocking - Help with My Approach, Please.

RobInMich

Expert
I'm a newbie in the field; been doing it for about 8 weeks and I'm really having a tough time. I primarily sell final expense, but am able to sell med sups as well. The company I work for handles lead generation mailers for us. We just have to buy the leads and run them. We do home visits only -- no calling first. Some agents do VERY well with this system -- I, however, am struggling. In the 8 weeks I've been selling, I've only sold 10 policies and I'm barely making ends meet.

So -- instead of continuing with the paid leads and debiting myself into bankruptcy, I'm looking for some free ways to prospect. Considering doing some cold door knocking. I've been reading this forum for a couple weeks and have found it to be a FANTASTIC resource for information.

After reading several threads on the topic from start to finish, I've come up with this spiel for leading off at the door. Let me know if it's too wordy, not catchy enough, etc, and any improvements that could be made to my approach. This is for cold door knocking in a specific neighborhood. No lead cards will be used, so I need it to be a good attention getter.

"Hi. My name is Robert Schember with First Financial Insurance Group. I'm a local life insurance agent and I'm just trying to introduce myself to the community. We've actually found that most people are overpaying for their life insurance benefits, especially if it was purchased within the last 5 years or purchased through the mail. Do you have just a few moments so I can introduce myself better and show you how I may be able to help you fix your current coverage?"

A [yes] answer would get me in the door where I could continue my presentation, offer a review, pet the cat, praise the children, comment on the cleanliness of the house ('Wow, there's hardly any cockroaches at all!'), present options for purchase, and hopefully close the sale.

A [no] answer would lead me to say...