Florida Medicare options

As a Georgia resident agent, I have always focused on Georgia clients, and most of my clients are not low income and seem to prefer Medicare supplements....but since recently moving to Florida from Georgia, I am rather surprised as to how much more expensive Medicare supplements are here. I had spoken to a FL Humana rep, and when I posed the overall question, she immediately said FL is a MA state in general. I guess with good PPO plans and all the Joe Namath give aways, I can see the argument with a Plan G here at age 65 almost $180-200/month versus maybe $120 in Georgia.

Of course I have sold lots of MA plans over the years as well....as nothing more fun that taking all the tests every year. :arghh:

I noticed that even "The Villages" has its own unique MAPD plans....and was told some doctors there only take that plan.

I have no plans to really chase FL business....since I am ~100% referral at this point and non-resident license in Georgia......but just curious what the FL Medicare brokers are generally doing since I am now a FL resident agent and may trip accross some FL business eventually. I am in the Panhandle area. I am contracted with everyone I need......so just a curiosity question.

I am in the FL panhandle too. Lots of military retirees and those with employer plans so it doesn't leave many T65 every month for me and you and the other hundreds of agents to fight over.

I’m about 50/50 in central FL. In my office one guy is 100% Med Supp only New to Medicare. Another guy is probably 80/20 med Supp to MAPD and a woman who is 90/10. It’s all how you present it and if you are referrals only It’ll probably be mostly what the person referred you has.

Plenty of high income in FL.

Most have 2nd homes in NY and need med supp.

ACA rates are huge in panhandle.
Happy campers when they T65 with med supp vs ACA.

I have about 150 to 200 FL med supps with UHC G or N. Jax mayo takes assignment.

I also sell UA HDG in certain situations.