Getting started as an independent agent

JDG13

Hey there, I'm a licensed life insurance agent trying to break through and become an independent agent while also avoiding the many MLM scams and absurdly commission rates that are out there. Any advice or recommendations? Thanks.

Hey there, I'm a licensed life insurance agent trying to break through and become an independent agent while also avoiding the many MLM scams and absurdly commission rates that are out there. Any advice or recommendations? Thanks.

There is a sticky thread (at the top of the section) in the Getting Started section of the forum called "Guidance for new life agents". It has a lot of good info for new agents.

You are right to worry about MLM schemes and such. However, most IMOs are not like that. Search the forum for IMO suggestions and you will find plenty of professional IMOs that are not out to rip you off. Todd King here on the forum is a good one to look at.

Some carriers will allow you to contract direct with them. But most require a middle man such as a GA or IMO. Guardian, Penn Mutual, Columbus Life, ANICO, Midland National are a few solid carriers that allow direct contracts.

There are over 800 life insurance companies in the US. I'm sure some of them will allow you to sell their products without middlemen.

Actually most of the competitive options require it unless the agent is producing millions a year with that carrier. Most of the "middle men" even go through other middle men to get their contracts.

The proper upline will help you get a good start... but the independent life style is a personal mind set. Your either a bull dog in this area or a toy poodle, you make that choice.

A good IMO can help you get your feet wet and introduce you to a "system" that can provide the main frame work of this profession. (Spoiler alert, there are no "black boxes", "no plug and play". Those who say other wise will help your short stay in this business become miserable and painful.)