Health Insurance help

jese

5Health Insurance help

I want to move out of state, and I am actually thinking about quitting my job and starting over. How long will my insurance cover me before I must pay out of my pocket, and does it carry over like that? Does it depend on the company and the type of insurance I have? I have never done this before, so I am unsure.

It is hard for companies to take me seriously out of state, when I am looking for jobs......They are pretty much hiring people that are already in the area so I don't really know what to do. The area I want to live does not have facilities even close to where I want to move too for transfer. Or should I just look for the closest facility? Which would mean more than one move!!

I am nearing 50, single/no children with avg health so I am taking a huge risk relocating w/o anything, can anyone help? I have BC/BS right now.

THANK YOU SO MUCH

Your coverage will lapse when you quit the job I think. If it continues at all it is only until the end of the month of when the last premium was paid by the company. What this means for all practical purposes is you will have to plan on providing your own coverage as soon as you quit. You can do this the cheapest with a temporary plan that is usually available for 6 months but usually can be extended.

As far as quitting, moving, and looking for another job at age 50 that is a fairly risky strategy. If I could transfer closer to the area I wanted to be at I probably would do that first and then continue the job search from there. Two moves would be less stressful and expensive then being unemployed for an extended period.