Independent Agent Looking for a NYL Contract

victor247

Expert
I'm looking to somehow contract with NYL to service my clients from 3 years ago when I was a NYL agent. I hate not having access to their file when doing an annual review.

1: Why didn't you copy your files before leaving?
2: NYL is a career shop...just as NML is. To my knowledge, NYL doesn't and
won't ever broker product.

1: Why didn't you copy your files before leaving?
2: NYL is a career shop...just as NML is. To my knowledge, NYL doesn't and
won't ever broker product.

I copied the files before leaving, that's not the issue. I want access to up to date values in their WL policies which makes reviews easier. I was told before by an agent that there was a way of doing it. I lost her contact info. Thought maybe I would ask here.

NYL does have broker contracts but I'm not sure they allow servicing agent changes. You will also have to write business with them to get the broker contract and there is a minimum of submitted business you need to open the contract.

I copied the files before leaving, that's not the issue. I want access to up to date values in their WL policies which makes reviews easier. I was told before by an agent that there was a way of doing it. I lost her contact info. Thought maybe I would ask here.

Unless things have changed...

Yes, you can get a broker contract with NYL. They only pay commission on larger cases, I believe $10,000 in annual premium.

Now, just because you get a broker contract does not necessarily mean you will gain access to view your previous client's policies online. A lot will depend on how their system is set up and if they would allow you access even if they could.

Can you not have the client call NYL and request an in-force illustration prior your review?