Is This Life Insurance?

I have noticed that when I call D-Leads (who most the time don't remember filling out the lead card) about their request for more information about mortgage protection one of the objections they give is they ask "is this life insurance?"

I am wondering

1. Why they are asking this?
2. I was told 'life insurance' has a negative connotation - why is that?

Oh okay. I didn't think about that. I am very new to this and I don't fill out these forms so I have no clue how it goes on the receiving end but I am discovering this now.

Do you usually answer them like
  • 'yes' then continue your script to set appointment
or do you ask them
  • 'what is your concern regarding "life insurance"?'
or are you just like
  • "I'm just the appointment setter and I don't know if I can accurately answer that but the agent who will drop off this info can explain everything to you" and continue to script to set appointment

Not sure the best way to overcome that objection

So at the risk of being harsh...

1. Questions are not objections.

2. Why do you want to see someone who has a negative opinion of life insurance? Do you think you are suddenly going to make them see the light, are you a super strong salesperson who will get them to buy when no one else has?

I used to get that one, when I mailed for MP. That question doesn't mean that they aren't interested, just that you need to kick your game up a little bit. I would verify the mortgage amount, and other identifying info. that was on the card, then back up into their question, letting them know that my interest is in covering the mortgage.

You will be surprised at how quickly they will lighten up, if they know that you're a professional whose sole desire is to assist them with this item.

BECAUSE they have already been pounded by many life insurance agents before you........