large scale replacements of your own clients-

SpruceBruce

Expert
I previously sold simplified issue policies in the mortgage protection market. Not doing that now. Looks like nearly all of my term clients would benefit by me replacing the policies with fully underwritten ones with a different carrier. My only concern is the reaction I may endure with the current carriers- 2 of them. I suspect in a short time they would cancel my contract for cause. This of course looks bad when you apply for any new contracts and could be a problem in the future. My logic tells me to write them and request that my contract be terminated, before they do it. We are talking about 60-90 replacements with 2 carriers. If I self terminate before they do, can they still contact the Dept of insurance in my my state and report they are terminating with cause. I have no experience in this are, looking for guidance..

I'm not sure that replacement of an existing life insurance policy is even grounds for "cause" to terminate a contract. Replacement isn't illegal if you comply with the regulations. My guess is that it's likely the replacement department won't even talk to the contracting department but who knows for sure.

You could have an issue if you have advanced commission on those policies or had some other agreement in place where you might have agreed not to do that eg, non solicitation agreement.

If you are going to replace a policy, make sure it's in the best interest of the policyholder and you follow the rules of replacement in the state you are doing business in. I'd also make sure the new policies are in force before you cancel the old ones since it's full underwriting.

If you aren't going to do business with that company anymore and don't need the contract then I suppose you could always terminate it yourself as you suggested.

Maybe others can chime in if they have had an issue to better help you out.