MAPD Enrollments outside of AEP

Todd N

Good Day Agents!!

I'm an independent agent, mainly sell Medigap policies but I do have quite a few MAPD members as well. My question is:

How are so many members enrolling into MAPD plans, NON-SNP plans, during the year. I've lost three members to Humana's telesales just the past two weeks. All of which signed up for an HMO, non SNP, for October 1. How is this even legal? How are they allowed to call and offer their products when those three don't even have Humana policies. How does CMS allow changes like this during the year without an election period? My guess from past years was the Humana reps used LIS election periods to get CMS to bite. But none of these people qualify. Ive discussed the limits and such, they won't qualify. Are they using that as a reason, then allowing MAPD enrollments to be denied, but continuing with the enrollment anyways?

Any ideas? I'm sick of it happening but I'm not sure there's a thing an independent agent like me can do when companies have unlimited resources to call and ad sell my clients daily.

Thank you guys.

Good Day Agents!!

I'm an independent agent, mainly sell Medigap policies but I do have quite a few MAPD members as well. My question is:

How are so many members enrolling into MAPD plans, NON-SNP plans, during the year. I've lost three members to Humana's telesales just the past two weeks. All of which signed up for an HMO, non SNP, for October 1. How is this even legal? How are they allowed to call and offer their products when those three don't even have Humana policies. How does CMS allow changes like this during the year without an election period? My guess from past years was the Humana reps used LIS election periods to get CMS to bite. But none of these people qualify. Ive discussed the limits and such, they won't qualify. Are they using that as a reason, then allowing MAPD enrollments to be denied, but continuing with the enrollment anyways?