Networking with Mortgage Offices

todd02

Guru
100+ Post Club
Ok, so this subject has been hit on here and there... I'd like to get a thread going of not only what works, but what you tried and Failed at AND why you thought it failed.

I've built a successful P&C shop based on internet leads and telemarketing. However, now I have the time/money to go to what of course are the best types of leads, referrals.

I've kind of pieced together some scripts and ideas from other threads.

1. Got a drop by or cup of coffee script.
2. Going to drop by or get a cup.
3. Use RECAMP program to add different value than other agents. (will this work on mortgage brokers for referrals you think? I don't see why not.)
4. Have a consistent drop by program, dropping off pens or what not's.
5. Be Johnny on the spot with promptness when getting the leads and making sure I keep the mortgage broker on where I am at in the process and that we were able to help their client.

I am a captive agent with Farmers. I know that a big factor is having multiple mono-line home policies available which I don't... Only Farmers and Foremost. I was thinking my way around this is to partner up with an indy agent in my area on things I can't write so I won't hurt the relationship.

What about you guys, what's worked and hasn't worked?

Also what about giftcards? Another Farmers agent I know gives a $50 gift card for every home policy they write. Yes this is sharing commissions... but most agents don't care as you can't actually tie it to a sell.

Last edited:
Who are they giving the $50 giftcard to, the consumer or the referring mortgage broker? If it is the mortgage broker, it isn't rebating but sharing commissions with an unlicensed entity if conditional upon the sale. I'm not sure which the DOI would consider worse, rebating or sharing commissions.