New Agent Seeking Knowledge

Hello!

I am a new agent looking to become an independent health insurance agent in Florida. My interest in this industry is due to the existing clients that I already have. My clients are all lower income and reside all over the country. I own a tax office, so i believe it would be fairly easy to get them interested in purchasing health insurance on the Marketplace. I have been searching this forum on the best way to go about it, but I am having a difficult time. Basically, I am trying to sell insurance plans from the federal marketplace. I'd like to know if there is a company or group that already has relationships with multiple marketplace insurance companies or would I have to go to each insurance company listed directly?

If anyone can help or point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated!

Depends on how you want to do it. The best way is to contract with the companies directly.. research the areas you want to target and contract with a few companies in those areas.

You may find the poor are not good clients unless they qualify for almost free.

Thank you all for the help. I think I am going to try to get myself appointed directly with the carriers. I do realize that lower income individuals isn't the best target market, but it works well with my existing business. Majority of my existing clients are lower income and would qualify for substantial subsidies. The only issue i may have, is that i have existing florida clients as well as clients all over the united states. I also have the ability to directly market to lower income individuals across the country.

Would you all recommend that I go get a non-resident license and appointments in every state or is their an easier way to do this?

Thank you again for your knowledge and expertise!