NYC P&C licensed what Next?

DaveFC

I am a tax preparer business owner in New York City. I just got my p&c license because I'm planning to expand my business. I am totally lost what's the best step for me since I am very New in p&c business with no experience. Thank you

I am a tax preparer business owner in New York City. I just got my p&c license because I'm planning to expand my business. I am totally lost what's the best step for me since I am very New in p&c business with no experience. Thank you

Either get appointed with a company (hard to do if you have no experience) or join a MGA/cluster/another one forgot name.

I have no experience at all. I don't even know what MGA/cluster means. But I am ready to learn. I have only tax clients of 250 individuals and 40 corp. Could you suggest NYC insurance companies I could contact? Thanks for your help.

I have no experience at all. I don't even know what MGA/cluster means. But I am ready to learn. I have only tax clients of 250 individuals and 40 corp. Could you suggest NYC insurance companies I could contact? Thanks for your help.

I recommend this one **Advantage Partners Network - Home**

I currently use them for companies that I can't get myself directly. it's 80/20 which means you keep 80 and they keep 20 percent. Also, you own your book of business. Other then that, you have to give them a good sales pitch because you have no experience. Only reason I like them because they are straight forward with you and you're not lock in. However, you cannot go after the companies that they give you for 3 years.

another link explaining but you have to look it up and do your research cause their are some bad ones out there.

**Pros and Cons of Joining an Insurance Cluster or Network**

and they don't charge you a big fee like some others that will charge crazy amount just to join. Also, no production as well I believe.

Maybe find a mentor because it's going to be tough.