Should I become an employee? Any advice is appreciated.

jstsa42

Orlando
Hi, I am an independent agent new to the insurance business and working for a GA that is able to sell BX and extend that right to me. I was originally brought on with the idea that I would be guaranteed leads for a reduced comission, but that I would have as many fresh exclusive leads as I would like.

In my first week in the business I sold 12 BX policies. The second week I hit 7 and the third week hit 8. However, in the last few weeks the nature of the GA's agreement with me seems to have changed.

Once I showed him how easy this is, he has decided to get "employees" under him and cut out any and all fresh leads to me. I now only receive leads that are 1-5 days old, and not as many as I would like, which is titlay against our agreement. That said, I have still been able to hit 5 -7 policies a week in my sleep.

However, today I was made aware that there will no longer be a 1099 agent possibility with this company as it will be more beneficial to them to go with just employees that make very little, but are able to write 7-8 apps a week. They would like me to become one of those employees. :err:

I am new, but I am not convinced that this is the right way to go, as Employees make less than $45,000 a year, killing themsleves for this GA.

I can do this job. I had 33 BX sales in my first full month in the business, but now the rug has been pulled out from under me and I have been pushed into an employee only situation.

Please let me know what advice you might have for me on my present situation, if there are any other GA's who would like me under their umbrella, or any other advice that you may have for me so that I can continue my new career in what seems to be a great business.

Thanks,