Starting at Sterling Health Plans

fmlaban

I have an interview with Sterling Health Plans in Bloomington, Il. I am new to health insurance, but am expecting a degree in health information management in May. I was wondering if the position of agent is strickly commission based or if there were some type of salary. I also was wondering if work was mostly completed at home or if they provide you an office. There office does not seem big, so I take it not all agents are there. Thanks for any help you can offer.

I previously worked for Sterling Health Plans in Bloomington, both as an agent and a Field Sales Manager. Everyone left......Unless you like calling from a credit bureau list...
Commission only....
They have started recruiting from the top down....the sales office, where the agents are will hold about 10 agents...that is all....there are never many there, as many of them only come in for mandatory meetings....
Good luck...

Thanks. I was hoping that there would be a base rate. At least I know this now rather than later...
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Just wondering, do they compensate you for training?

Last edited:
I worked for them last year. It was a horrible experience. But part of that came down to the the culture at the office I was working in. And a field service manager who was a complete jerk.

There is no salary. It is basically a commission job. They have a points system for sales. If you sell enough plans, you will get a $1000 monthly bonus that decreases over time until renewals kick in. But since the commissions are very low, you would still most likely be better off elsewhere. I know they were talking of going to computers, but they had not yet. My office had one computer used by the secretary. So do not expect to use your degree.