Starting Over in Med Supp Sales

I am new to this forum and I am getting back into the senior market. I would like information concerning what is working for a leads source. My agency was destroyed in Hurricane Katrina and I have not been in sales since that time. I am looking for ideas on what is working for either prospecting, cold calling, internet leads, or mail drops. I am starting from scratch again.

Internet leads are so so at best. it mainly depends on the number of agents who use them in your area, and how fast you call them. They will usually match your first order so it might be worte it to start with $100 and get $200 worth of leads. Just be prepared to shut it off quick if its not working because the leads will keep coming and you'll keep getting charged.

You can buy a Cold calling list from forum member Josh. I did a few weeks ago and for the money its a very good value.

I have no real experience with mail-drops so i can't speak for that. But i do know these people espically T-65 get crushed with mail. It wold not be cost effective for an independent agent to mail for T-65 med supps. In fact part of my cold calling routine for t-65 has been to say "i know you have gotten a lot of information in the mail, and i wanted to see if you have gotten a chance to actually sit down with anyone and go over what all these options are."

Just whatever you do don't use prospect match or brokerville or whatever they are calling themselves.

I tried internet leads again a few months ago. In the past I had success with health (major med) purchased leads but that has been at least 3 years since I did that.

I only write gap, not MA business. That limits my market but I don't care, this is the way I want to run it.

The internet Medicare leads I got were no better or worse than my prior experience with health leads. One thing that caught me off guard was the number of folks calling these people.