The best/worst cold call

richreeves

Expert
What's the best and worst cold call you have ever received? And what do you think is the best or worst cold call that you have ever done? I understand that the best is when you closed the deal. But I want to hear specific stories like what research have you done to gain rapport or anything like that.

I think the best was when I was a fairly new debit agent with National Life and Accident back in 1972.. My staff manager and I were knocking doors in a mobile home park. Knocked on a door, the man came to the door and I told him who we were.. He responded, "I don't need any insurance." . As I was getting ready to reply, he continued, 'but I have been looking for some life insurance. " Sold him a $50,000 whole life before we left. That is the equivalent of about $300K today.. I know that is not a huge sale for agents that work the ordinary personal and business markets, but it sure was huge for a debit agent in the day and age. I have sold many cases from canvassing but this one will always stand out in my mind.

Worst cold-call/door-knock example: I had a guy trying to sell energy-efficient windows knock on my door about 3 weeks ago. Actually, I should say rapping on my door - like 15 times right in a row as though he was a cop.

Only 3 kinds of people should knock like that:
1) Police/Fire/Ambulance
2) Sheriff's department (legal papers, etc.)
3) Delivery requiring a signature... but it should be the 2nd time they knock.

Anyway, because he knocked on my door so rudely, I let him say about 5-6 words, then interrupted him: "WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU ARE TO KNOCK ON MY DOOR LIKE THAT?!?"

That shook him up real quick.

"Oh, I'm sorry."

I said "No you're not. You need to leave. NOW!" And I shut the door on him.