What is a Fair Split Percentage of Commissions

agentboy52

Hi everyone

I am new to insurance industry and currently working at an independent agency. The agreement I have with the agency is straight commission or a 1099 relationship. I currently have my P&C ,Life, accident and health licenses. The agency offered me an evergreen agreement the book of business I am building. I am responsible from A to Z in prospecting, selling, managing, customer service, implementing all paperwork and maintaining customer relationships for the life of the account. The agency provides me with markets/carries, a desk to sit at when in the office and any free training from the carries. What percentage of commission rate should I be asking for under this structure??

Please advise me ,I am looking to better understand the industry compensation models for 1099 reps.

Thanks!
Agentboy52

You should get atleast 50% on new business and 50% on renewals.

I would ask or shoot for a 60/40 split with 50/50 on renewals.

The 50/50 sounds reasonable. There are a lot of components in situations like these and often times you're going to be the best judge of what's right for you. One thing I would point out is that a lot of times folks get more focused on getting "top" compensation and focus less on more important aspects such as training and being able to actually have a market. There are a large number of agents that have come to this forum and felt like they were getting "ripped off", then went out to get "better" contracts, only to find themselves in a situation where they weren't writing business because they had ignored things such as training, lead generation, and mentoring. Even if you get started at a low compensation level, once you get a few years in and really understand what's going on it's much easier to either change your existing relationship(s) or move on than it is to try to start with "top contracts" right off the bat.

Thank you for your input on the percentage split.