Advice for transitioning to a career as an insurance agent?

Marko Ramius

The company I work for (and have worked for for the past 10+ years) is going to be sold relatively soon and I would like to take that opportunity to follow a passion of mine and become an insurance agent (P&C, L&H). I worked in banking and financial sales before I started my current job and I really developed a love for that industry and, eventually, the insurance industry. I have many years of experience with lead generation, direct sales (outside and inside), and B2B sales - but I want to make sure I go about this the right way.

Realistically, I'm probably 2-3 years out from moving into the insurance industry (maybe a bit less). So, what advice would you offer a prospective agent in my current situation?

-Is 6 months of expenses adequate to live off of when starting out?
-Should I get licensed now? (I have already begun using Exam FX to study)
-Should I strive to be a captive agent or an independent agent?
-If captive, should I apply to work for the company that I currently have insurance with?
-Are scratch agencies still a viable option?
-etc

Any other advice you're willing to provide, I'm all ears.

TIA

-Is 6 months of expenses adequate to live off of when starting out?
too many variables
-Should I get licensed now? (I have already begun using Exam FX to study)
no reason to delay
-Should I strive to be a captive agent or an independent agent?
depends on the USP of the agency and how their products fit that USP.
-If captive, should I apply to work for the company that I currently have insurance with?
Companies are nothing. The agency, management, and training are everything.
-Are scratch agencies still a viable option?
I don't even know what that means.

This is not a job. It's a business. It's YOUR business, regardless of whether you become a captive agent or not. Therefore it takes business planning skills rather than job searching skills for success.