Air Force Retiree Wondering how to Get Started As an Indepent Agent in Kentucky?

Retired A.F.

Hi everyone,

I'm on terminal leave with the Air Force, and officially retire May 1. My question is where do I start if I want to open shop up in Western Kentucky as an independent agent? I've got no experience with insurance, but did spend 2005-2009 as an enlisted accessions recruiter for the AF. Do you need a lot of start up $$$, and how do you partner with insurance companies? Any help is appreciated!

You didn't say what line (life, health, property & casualty, etc) but starting as an independent in any line with no direct experience is a very difficult path.

I suggest you explore a more structured approach by looking at captive / career opportunities or by joining an agency (if p&c) to get experience and training.

Hi everyone, I'm on terminal leave with the Air Force, and officially retire May 1. My question is where do I start if I want to open shop up in Western Kentucky as an independent agent? I've got no experience with insurance, but did spend 2005-2009 as an enlisted accessions recruiter for the AF. Do you need a lot of start up $$$, and how do you partner with insurance companies? Any help is appreciated!

Thanks for serving our country! Where in Western Kentucky are you located? what type of insurance are you interested in pursuing?

You didn't say what line (life, health, property & casualty, etc) but starting as an independent in any line with no direct experience is a very difficult path.

I suggest you explore a more structured approach by looking at captive / career opportunities or by joining an agency (if p&c) to get experience and training.
I think I'd like to be licensed in P&C, life and health. I've been in the hiring process with one major company, but there's a lot of negative from both agents, and past agents with the company that I've read on this forum. I really would like to work independently, not sure if it's feasible right away.