Auto insurance went down by starting fresh quote instead of auto-renew

Rusty Shackleford

Hello folks - I am a Florida resident with Progressive; every six months I have my car insurance auto renewed but I was aghast at my rate going up by over 30% this period. I have had no accidents, great credit, and no tickets. I went ahead and logged out of my account and got a fresh quote with the same exact type of coverage as I had before - and this time it was nearly half of what I was going to pay!

Is there a reason for this ? I had been with Progressive for 15 years and every year my rate would either hold steady or go up by 20 dollars or so but in the past year-and-a-half, my rate has gone up by 100 dollars, then 200, etc.. and so on.

Why did doing a fresh quote like I just walked in the door result in such a lower rate ?

Hello folks - I am a Florida resident with Progressive; every six months I have my car insurance auto renewed but I was aghast at my rate going up by over 30% this period. I have had no accidents, great credit, and no tickets. I went ahead and logged out of my account and got a fresh quote with the same exact type of coverage as I had before - and this time it was nearly half of what I was going to pay!

Is there a reason for this ? I had been with Progressive for 15 years and every year my rate would either hold steady or go up by 20 dollars or so but in the past year-and-a-half, my rate has gone up by 100 dollars, then 200, etc.. and so on.

Why did doing a fresh quote like I just walked in the door result in such a lower rate ?
Ask your agent

A teaser quote done online has every conceivable discount loaded into it. Is your home insured by Progressive? The teaser will assume that it is. Do you do everything electronically? Have the smart app on your phone? Pay in full every 6 months? Listed every licensed driver in your home?