Brand New Rookie in the Game

arnellwest

I am brand new to this forum. I know that there are probably 100s of post that have already touched on my questions. I will visit those post and do my research, but I just want a few posts to my own specific questions. First off, I know very little about the industry. Today, I was contacted by a State Farm recruiter, whom wants to put me through their training program. So from what I understand, it will be up to 9 months training and education to get all of my licenses. They will pay me my annual salary from last year (Unrelated to Insurance Industry), then after I am licensed, I will get a $30,000 sign on bonus. Well that got me interested, so I done some research for the last few hours. Remember, before today, I did not know anything about the industry or the business. I still know nothing, but I know a few terms and have a general idea. I'm pretty smart. I have an MBA. So I know something about business.

I know what a captive vs an Independent is. So I'm considering about breaking in to the business, but I would prefer to be an independent. Please provide some feedback about what State Farm is offering me. Is it a good deal?

Also, about being independent. Would I need to be hired by a brokerage firm that already has companies they work with, or can I branch out on my own and create relationships with insurance companies and sell their products.

If I was to do this, I would open my own office and reap all the benefits from the hard work I put out. But I'm not sure if it even works that way if where an independent.