Companies possible DOI Investigation - How to protect myself

dawnlove

Hello Everyone,

Looking for some feedback here. I work for an independent Insurance Broker which is an LLC - I'm a senior broker and 1099 through the company. I've been told by this company that when I do decide to leave they would buy my book of business. I have no contract with them nor do I have anything in writing saying they will buy the book of business. I became pregnant and due this spring, this changed a few of my career plans and with this pregnancy I decided to continue working from home for another year or two then look to leave the company. I have just found out that one of the owners clients is suing him for high broker fees and the company may be facing another investigation by the DOI - there was an investigation done 10 years ago for this same issue they are now facing again. All though nobody has said anything to me directly I found out the management is nervous with this and are taking their own steps to minimize the impact.

Anything regarding the DOI make me nervous - insurance is my career even if it's not with this company.

These are my questions:

I'm unsure as to if I need to take any steps personally to be sure I am protected should the DOI investigate and there be repercussions.

How can I find out what my book of business may be valued at? I'm debating seeing if I can propose leaving now before anything happens.

Any feedback on this would be greatly appreciated.

I've been told by this company that when I do decide to leave they would buy my book of business. I have no contract with them nor do I have anything in writing saying they will buy the book of business.

Then you already know that what you were "told" is meaningless.

Do you have any kind of a written contract from when you first started working with the company? Any correspondence at all regarding your business, commissions, etc?