Don't give up!

N

nate124

This post is mostly for new people - Just a story about something that happened to me. Not sure what will come of it, but it looks positive.

I'm very new to the business as well, but have been plugging away, getting some telemarketed leads, and been working a ton of hours learning this business. (Last week I think I worked about 60)

I received a lead for a lady who owns a 1800 GOT JUNK franchise. She and her husband own it, and they have 6 employees all between the ages of 23-27 years old. They had been insured with M-Care, (which is now Blue Care Network) and they were paying $206/month per employee. Obviously, for someone who is 23 years old, and healthy, that is a rediculous rate!

I talked with her initially, and she was interested in getting some more info from me. She was meeting with her "current insurance guy" the next day, so I told her to see what he came up with, and call me and we would set up a time to compare the plans to see what would work best for her. I did this so the other "insurance guy" couldn't do the same to my plans. Seems to work best when you are the last guy to meet with/talk to a prospect.

After this phone call, I didn't hear from her. This past Wednesday, I sent her an email, just asking where she was in the process. She wrote me back, and said "thanks, but our insurance guy gave us a really good deal and we are going with his quote. Contact me next May."

Now, at this point, I decided to email her back just for giggles. I had nothing to lose - I wrote her and basically said the following:

1: What company did you go with?
2: Did your insurance guy offer you a group plan with 1 company, or did he give you options for individual plans as well?
3: I explained the difference in group plan underwriting and individual underwriting and how it has an effect on premiums.
4: I told her that a 27 year old male who is healthy could be paying as little as $85.00/month.