Ideas for a new Commercial Producer

Jessica Durphy

Guru
100+ Post Club
Kentucky
Ok guys... I have a new guy who is eager to sell and grow his book of business. He's new to the industry, but has taken time to learn products and quoting system. He is piggy backing off of my "name" in the community and getting some leads and selling some smaller businesses.
My question to you guru's is this... what are some effective techniques that you "successful" commercial producers are using ...
He is out in the community, passing out business cards, stopping in businesses, giving away "goodies", going to Chamber events, We have a telemarketer making calls for him... Yet all leads are either duds or coming in very slowly!

Do you have any help or advice for him?

I am a commercial only producer. Not everyone can sell insurance to a business owner. Maybe he can, maybe he can't.

This is the best route. Canvass, canvass, canvass. That has BY FAR been my most productive route for new business before I learned how to ask for referrals. Once he has a few sales, he needs to educate himself on how to PROPERLY ask for referrals. I get an average of 3 referrals per sale, which turns into 1 or two sales, on average. After that he should start developing a niche.

For him, if he already has some commercial sales, he should watch videos and do reading on how to PROPERLY ask for referrals, then get them from those businesses.

most states outside of CA are pretty easy to Telemarket. Curious what struggles you are having with the telemarketer - are they appointment setting or x-dating for the agent?

1-1's are a big renewal month. Not impossible to get 100+ x-dates for 4th quarter from now until September calling just part time.