I'm Going Retail

Alhambra

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I'm very new to the Insurance Industry, but I'm fully licensed and I just got my keys to small store-front retail office building located on a busy car traffic boulevard, across the street from DMV, and surrounded by three gigantic senior apartment buildings home to as many as 1,000 independent living senior citizens.

I plan to offer Medicare Supplements, Medicare Advantage, Regular Medical Plans, Stand alone Dental Plans, Final Expenses Insurance, and variety of Life and Annuities programs.

How should I promote my new office?

How can I get my name known quickly?

Should I throw grand opening parties?

Should I attempt to recruit agents right away?

What else should I do to make it a success?

If you're across the street from the DMV you really should try to sell some auto insurance!

I disagree...If they are only thinking about Auto Insurance when walking into the DMV chances are its because they only keep a policy long enough to show proof of insurance....However I thought the same thing when he mentioned the DMV.

Too bad I can't think up a nice slogan for a banner something like While your waiting and waiting and waiting on the DMV left me help you ....

Go over there in the mornings when the lines are huge and people are stuck waiting forever and give out some donuts and coffee (and cards). Tell them your office is right across the street if they ever have any questions about their insurance needs. Heck, go hit them up while they are waiting in line outside before the doors open. Chilly morning, hot coffee, fresh donut.....

Since CA DMVs are closed 3 Fridays a month, invite them in to your office on a "closed" Friday for an "open house" with pastries and coffee.

You have a captive market at the DMV, they ain't going anywhere in a big hurry :biggrin:

Last edited:
Put up a banner that says "give us 15 minutes and we can save you 15% or more".

Wait, that might be taken.