Need Advice - Considering Career As Insurance Sales Agent

ASINS

Okay, here is my current situation. I was recently laid off from a supply chain services company. I enjoyed the job and I'm sorry I had to go. I have found employment at Amazon as a "Fulfillment Associate." However, I have to wait a few months before starting this position as the fulfillment center hasn't actually been completed yet. In the meantime I am still looking into other opportunities. I have received offers from two insurance companies [Colonial Life and Farmers] and I am considering taking one of these opportunities.

A little more information on me:

1.I have little to no experience in Sales. My education background is in Engineering with my work experience being in Quality Control/Assurance.
2.I have an introverted personality but I feel confident that given the right training I could gain the skills I need to succeed. In fact, one of the reasons, I am considering this path, is that it would improve my communication and interpersonal skills.
3.My financial resources are very limited right now. So it will be very difficult to get together any initial seed money before commissions start coming.
4.Most of my work experience has been in the manufacturing industry. I am thinking about this move because manufacturing seems volatile whereas insurance is more "recession-proof."

For those of you who have experience in sales or the insurance industry, what advice would you give to a newbie? Is is worth the risk? What are my chances of success?

ASINS, in the insurance industry, success takes full commitment. How committed are you; you mentioned doing insurance while waiting for the fulfillment center to be completed. If that means you only plan to do insurance on a part-time basis, it probably will not suffice. The two offers you have may be viable as career moves. If your heart isn't in it, you are wasting your time.

My advice to newbies: