Need Advice Getting Started

rebiii

Hi,

I'm 55 and currently not working. I make a little money from Internet sales.

I got some emails to sell insurance with AIL, so I Googled them and found this forum.

Apparently AIL and other Torchmark companies are not the way to go.

My question is: What is a viable first step I can take to get into selling insurance?

My goal is a 10+ year career at the end of my working life.

I have 10 years of experience in fundraising for a non-profit. Most of what I did was cold call canvassing at doors, but I also did renewal and high-donor work in person and on the phone.

I have good customer service skills from retail and restaurant work. I have two college degrees, but I also worked in the Teamsters Union. I can establish a rapport with most people.

I do not have a wide social network. If selling life insurance depends on my network, I'm sunk!

What do people recommend I do? Should I call AIL? Is there a better tier of companies?

I read the sticky at the top of this subforum, but I got lost. I don't understand even simple terminology, like "term life insurance." I've never sold or bought life insurance. Think of me as the newest of newbies. But I'm a quick learner. And I won't hit a ceiling with computer and math skills as I get farther into it. I've just never done this before.

Best, Bob

1. The insurance industry is a business and/or industry. Don't look at it like a job. What that ultimately means, is that it's up to YOU to figure out this business for yourself.

If you answer an ad for a job, expect that they will pay you less in exchange for leads, mentoring/training (ha!), and/or both.

2. Prospecting is a SKILL that you learn. Many companies DO promote a "project 200" mentality of contacting all your friends and family... but if you don't build the skills to expand beyond that, your career will be cut short.