New Agent - Several Questions

mkennedy

I am a newly licensed Texas agent with quite a few questions; I have found an abundance of information on this site and am thankful!

1. Can anyone explain to me the difference (pros/cons) of an independent agent versus an agency? Off the top, it appears as a difference in how you state the name, but common sense tells me there's more to it than that.

2. I've seen Insurance Noodle and Superior Access recommended, are there other options available and what are some important things to look for in evaluating these companies?

You must be talking about P&C. Do you plan on going on your own as a newbie in P&C? I tried it. It was hard to get E&O and carriers as a newbie. This is why Superior Acess is recommended.

Indy - You have all the freedom and headaches of running your own business. You can sell various carrier's products. You will have no manager, no proper training, and no stipend. You will determine whether you live or die in this business

Agency- I am assuming you mean captive? You will still be a business owner but with the backing off a company. Most will provide you with some training, back office support, and maybe even some money to get your business off the ground. However you will be tied to selling one carrier's products whether competitive or not. They may also chose to non-renew your contract if you do poorly.

HomeService - yes, P&C Indy as a newbie - somewhat scary, but much more suited to my customer-service style in being able to offer competitive premiums from multiple companies. In my efforts to locate information, this is the first place I landed.